Two withdrawals from Mid Wales League

Presteigne St Andrews FC
Two withdrawals from the Mid Wales League West

The MMP Mid Wales League has confirmed the East Division for the 2021-22 season – in which Presteigne St Andrews FC will figure – has been dealt a blow in terms of the make up of the league for the coming campaign.

Both Llanymynech FC and Newbridge-on-Wye FC have confirmed they are to withdraw from the proposed division due to a lack of available players.

This setback has been offset to a degree with the news Montgomery Town are to join the league after they successfully applied for a vacancy.

So, the member clubs will be: Abermule; Bishops Castle; Brecon Corries, Builth Wells; Churchstoke; Forden United, Hay St Marys; Knighton Town, Llanfyllin, Llansantffraid; Montgomery Town, Newtown Wanderers, Presteigne St Andrews, Radnor Valley and Waterloo Rovers.

The situation looks even more disappointing on the west side of the mountains where only eight clubs will feature this season.

Aberaeron; Aberystwyth University, Barmouth, Dolgellau; Dyffryn Banw; Newcastle Emlyn, Tregaron Turfs and Tywyn Bryncrug will make up the West Division.

The Mid Wales League East Division will start on the weekend of 13/14 July which – says he nailing his colours firmly to the mast – seems far too early given people – and specifically players – will still be very much in holiday or cricket mode at that point.

No doubt they powers-that-be will cite concerns over another Covid-19 outbreak and the impact that might have but there doesn’t seem much point in arranging fixtures if people aren’t likely to be around to play in them.

But, above all, very sad to read of the problems facing Llanymynech and particularly our fellow Radnorshire club Newbridge-on-Wye with whom we’ve had some good battles over the years.  Here’s hoping both clubs can regroup and come back strongly in the future.